‘Navratri’ means ‘nine nights.’ ‘Nava’ means ‘nine,’ and ‘Ratri’ means ‘night.’It is a nine day festival which is celebrated across India and in the East it is also known as Durga Puja, and is celebrated with full fervour.During Navratri we worship the Shakti referred as Goddess Durga

 The Festival signifies the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasura.. The puja that we perform during the 9 days of Navratri is a way of honouring the Devi and the feminine nature of the divine devi and also showing our gratitude to the Mother Divine. During these nine days Goddess Shakti is worshiped in her various forms as Maa Durga ,Maa Lakshmi and Maa Saraswati Each of the three deities give rise to three more forms representing the finer meaning of each form. Hence in all, these nine forms are known as Navdurga.

On the first three days of the Navratri Goddess Durga is worshiped in the three forms Devi Shailputri,Devi Brahmacharini and Devi Chandraghanta Goddess Durga represents the power of good over evil, She also combats evils and demonic forces that can threaten peace and prosperity. It further means a person with evil tendencies like laziness,ignorance,ego,jealousy,anger,greed will not let the person rise and achieve true peace and happiness. So we must get rid of these evil qualities with determination and fearlessness.

From the fourth to the sixth day Goddess Lakshmi is worshiped in three forms Devi Kushmanda, Devi Skandamata and Devi Katyayani. Goddess Lakshmi is always associated with wealth and prosperity. She is believed to improve health and also bestow wealth and strength. It is also believed that all the power to bestow Siddhis and Niddhis are located in her Jap Mala.Now to understand this further it means that we humans need to inculcate the ideas and qualities of self discipline, kindness love and respect towards one another and these qualities are more important than material wealth

The last three days Goddess Saraswati is worshiped in three forms Devi Kaaliratri Maha Gauri and Devi Siddhiratri . Goddess Saraswati is associated with learning and knowledge It is only with knowledge that we can get rid of negative energies within us and create a perfect harmony in our life and also achieve something that looks impossible but we can make it possible and become fearless

The garba dance is an essential part of navratris. Traditionally it is performed during the nine days.

4 thoughts on “Navratri

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s